Home » President » Former
0.0 (3)
Presidents of the Islamic Parliament of Iran since the Islamic Revolution of 1979


1.Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani

He was speaker of parliament from 1980 to 1989, starting from the first term of Parliament following the 1979 Islamic Revolution .He was born in a village of Rafsanjan county in Kerman Province, on August 4, 1934.  He was married with five children including two daughters and three sons. From a young age he studied theological sciences at Hawza in Qom.  He holds an Ijtihad degree. He has held many key posts in the Islamic Republic including president and chairman of the Assembly of Experts. During the Iraqi imposed war (1980-1988) he represented the Supreme Leader in the Supreme Defense Council and was practically commander-in-chief of Iran's Armed Forces. He was the chairman of the Founding Board as well as the Board of Trustees of Islamic Azad University. His last official post was chairman of Expediency Council. Known as one of the most influential political figures in the Islamic Republic, Hashemi Rafsanjani died in January 2017.     





 2.Mehdi Karroubi

 He took on the responsibility as the Speaker of the Majlis for two terms. His first term in office lasted from 1989 - 1992, while the

  second was from 2000-2004.  He was born in 1937 in Aligudarz , Khorramabad Province .  He is married, and has three sons. He studied in the Seminary and University. In 1972 graduated with a BA  in Theology and law from Tehran University.





 3.Ali Akbar Nateq Nouri

Nateq Nouri was the Speaker of the Majlis from 1992-2000. He was born in 1943, in Nour, a city in  Mazandaran Province. He is married , and has eight children with six daughters, and two sons.  He was a member of the Majlis for  the first three terms and the Speaker in the fourth and fifth terms. He has in his record the theological studies, holding a BA in the Philosophy and Islamic Hikmat, from Tehran University. He is currently a member of the Expediency Council.




 4.Gholam Ali Haddad Adel

He was the Speaker of the Majlis from 2004-2008 , He was born in Tehran in 1945.  He is married, and has four children, including three daughters and one son. He's studied physics and philosophy at Tehran University. He holds a PhD in philosophy from Tehran University.  Since 1990 he has been a member of the Persian Academy and a professor at Tehran University.






5.Dr. Ali Ardeshir Larijani 

He was President of Parliament since 2008-2020. He was born in 1957 in a highly prominent religious family in Najaf (a religious city of Iraq). He is married and has two sons and two daughters. He was Secretary General of the Supreme National Security Council, (2005-2007). He has held many key posts in the Islamic Republic including Supreme Leaders representative to the Supreme National Security Council and Minister of Guidance and Islamic Culture, 1991-1993. He also served as President of IRIB, 1994-2004.


Parameter:397&4310&57898!model&64 -LayoutId:64 LayoutNameالگوی متنی پیش فرض

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter

Contact Us

Address: Baharestan Square, Tehran,Iran, PO box: 11575-177

Postcode: 1157612811

Tel: +98(21) 39931

Fax: +98(21) 33440309

Email: en@parliran.ir

Islamic Parliament of Iranwidth=

Copyright © by Parliran.ir / Powered by: Center of Planning and Information Technology, Islamic Parliament of Iran