Home » News » General
0.0 (0)
Lebanese Speaker Vows to Probe Fate of Kidnapped Iranian Diplomats

TEHRAN, July 11, 2014 (FNA)- Lebanese Parliament Speaker Nabih Berri promised to make his best efforts to pursue the fate of the four Iranian diplomats abducted in Lebanon in 1982.

Berri made the remarks in a meeting with Iranian Ambassador to Lebanon and families of the kidnapped diplomats on Wednesday.Fathali told reporters after the meeting that Berri expressed solidarity with the families of abducted Iranian diplomats and promised to do his best to pursue their case.

The then charge daffaires of the Iranian Embassy in Beirut Seyed Mohsen Mousavi, military attaché Ahmad Motevaselian, embassy technician Taghi Rastegar Moghadam and journalist of the Islamic republic news agency Kazzem Akhavan were kidnapped by the Lebanese mercenary army - also known as the Falangists - at gunpoint in Northern Lebanon in 1982 and were later handed over to Israeli army.

Israel has released contradictory reports on the issue. The Zionist regime alleged in a statement last year that the diplomats had never been surrendered to Israel. Elsewhere it claimed in response to a request put forward by the Lebanese Hezbollah group that the four are already dead.

Earlier in January 2009, the then Iranian foreign ministry spokesman said that Iran had received a report from the Zionist regime which said the kidnapped Iranian diplomats had not been transferred to Tel Aviv and laid the blame on the Lebanese mercenary army affiliated with Israel.

In reaction to the report, the spokesman said at the time that the report "will not relieve the Zionist regime of its responsibility" for the healthiness and safe repatriation of the diplomats.


Parameter:47471!model&7984 -LayoutId:7984 LayoutNameالگوی متنی بدون عکس بزرگ

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter

Contact Us

Address: Baharestan Square, Tehran,Iran, PO box: 11575-177

Postcode: 1157612811

Tel: +98(21) 39931

Fax: +98(21) 33440309

Islamic Parliament of Iranwidth=

Copyright © by Parliran.ir / Powered by: Center of Planning and Information Technology, Islamic Parliament of Iran