Home » News » General
0.0 (0)
Larijani re-elected as Iran Majlis speaker

TEHRAN, May 25, 2014 (Press TV)Iranian lawmakers have elected Ali Larijani as the speaker of Irans Majlis (parliament) for the third consecutive year.

Larijani was elected as the speaker by getting 187 out of 264 votes cast during the Majlis open session on Sunday. The figure is lower from the 213 votes he received for the position in 2013.

Two other candidates, Ahmad Bakhshayesh from the reformist faction and Bahram Biranvand from the Islamic Resistance Front, received 32 and 26 votes respectively, while 19 lawmakers abstained.

Larijani has been Irans parliament speaker since the 8th Majlis started in 2008. At their Sunday session, the lawmakers also elected Mohammad Hassan Aboutorabi-Fard and Mohammad Reza Bahonar as the first and second deputy speakers, respectively.

Election of other members of the Majlis presiding board, including six secretaries and three supervisors, is on the lawmakers agenda. Irans ninth Majlis was inaugurated in May 2012.


Parameter:47013!model&7984 -LayoutId:7984 LayoutNameالگوی متنی بدون عکس بزرگ

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter

Contact Us

Address: Baharestan Square, Tehran,Iran, PO box: 11575-177

Postcode: 1157612811

Tel: +98(21) 39931

Fax: +98(21) 33440309

Email: en@parliran.ir

Islamic Parliament of Iranwidth=

Copyright © by Parliran.ir / Powered by: Center of Planning and Information Technology, Islamic Parliament of Iran