Home » News » General
0.0 (0)
Larijani Condoles with Afghan Counterparts over Mudslide Incident

TEHRAN, May 03, 2014 (FNA)- Iranian Parliament Speaker Ali Larijani in separate messages to the speakers of Afghanistans Mesharno and Wolesi Jirgas (houses of elders and people) extended his condolences over the death of thousands of people in the recent flooding and mudslide in the Northern province of Badakhshan.

"With great sorrow I was informed of the death of many Afghan citizens in the landslide incident in Badakhshan province," the Iranian parliament speaker said in his letter to the Speaker of Mesharno Jirga, Fazl Hadi Moslemyar, on Saturday. In his letter to the Speaker of Afghan House of People, Abdulraouf Ebrahimi, Larijani said, "I hereby express my condolences to you, the Muslim government and nation of the brotherly and neighboring country of Afghanistan."

Afghan authorities said more than 2700 people have died following a massive landslide in Badakhshan Province. The Friday mudslide destroyed almost the entire village of Ab-e-Khoshk in the Argu district. More than 4,000 others have been displaced by the disaster after the side of a mountain collapsed into a village in Argo district on Friday morning.

Badakhshan provincial governor Navid Frotan said the rescue teams have launched rescue and search operations, but there was no hope of finding survivors as they are buried in up to 100 meters of mud. Afghanistans bicameral National Assembly consists of the Meshrano Jirga or House of Elders (102 seats, two-thirds of members elected from provincial councils for four-year terms, and one-third nominated by the president for five-year terms) and the Wolesi Jirga or House of People (no more than 250 seats; members directly elected for five-year terms).


Parameter:46767!model&7984 -LayoutId:7984 LayoutNameالگوی متنی بدون عکس بزرگ

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter

Contact Us

Address: Baharestan Square, Tehran,Iran, PO box: 11575-177

Postcode: 1157612811

Tel: +98(21) 39931

Fax: +98(21) 33440309

Islamic Parliament of Iranwidth=

Copyright © by Parliran.ir / Powered by: Center of Planning and Information Technology, Islamic Parliament of Iran