wait Please Wait

Islamic Parliament of Iran

Islamic Parliament of IRAN

Home » President » Former
0.0 (0)

Presidents of the Islamic Parliament of Iran since the Islamic Revolution of 1979


1.Ali Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani

He served the post from 1980-89, starting from the first term of Parliament  after the Islamic Revolution .He was born in a village in Rafsanjan, Kerman Province, on August 4, 1934.  He is married, and has five children including  two daughters and three sons. From a young age he studied theological sciences in a seminary in Qom.  He holds an Ijtihad degree. He has held many key posts in the Islamic Republic of Iran government, including, that of the President, Speaker of the Experts' Assembly. He is currently chairman of the Expediency Council.     





 2.Mehdi Karroubi

 He took on the responsibility as the Speaker of the Majlis for two terms. His first term in office lasted from 1989 - 1992, while the

  second was from 2000-2004.  He was born in 1937 in Aligudarz , Khorramabad Province .  He is married, and has three sons. He studied in the Seminary and University. In 1972 graduated with a BA  in Theology and law from Tehran University.





 3.Ali Akbar Nateq Nouri

Nateq Nouri was the Speaker of the Majlis from 1992-2000. He was born in 1943, in Nour, a city in  Mazandaran Province. He is married , and has eight children with six daughters, and two sons.  He was a member of the Majlis for  the first three terms and the Speaker in the fourth and fifth terms. He has in his record the theological studies, holding a BA in the Philosophy and Islamic Hikmat, from Tehran University. He is currently a member of the Expediency Council.




 4.Gholam Ali Haddad Adel

He was the Speaker of the Majlis from 2004-2008 , He was born in Tehran in 1945.  He is married, and has four children, including three daughters and one son. He's studied physics and philosophy at Tehran University. He holds a PhD in philosophy from Tehran University.  Since 1990 he has been a member of the Persian Academy and a professor at Tehran University.





Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter

Contact Us

Address: Baharestan Square, Tehran, Iran - Postcode: 11575-177

Tel: +98(21) 39931

Fax: +98(21) 33440309

Email: en [at] parliran.ir

Copyright © by Parliran.ir / Powered by: Center of Planning and Information Technology, Islamic Parliament of Iran